Home> About us> Our structure


Log in

User name


Our structure

An assemblage of skills and knowledge

Our structure

The QueenSpark Management Committee directs QueenSpark's activities.

It meets monthly (usually on the fourth Wednesday) at the University of Brighton. Whilst the mix of the group is constantly changing, it always includes some very skilled and knowledgeable people.

A current member to be voted onto the Committee is Dr Gerry Holloway, (shown here on the left) with Eileen Yeo, one of the very first members of the Committee in the 1970s.


Members of the Management Committee:
Melita Dennett
(Director and Chair)
Frank Flood (Director and Company Secretary)
Gerry Holloway (Director)
Esther Gill (Director)
Nicola Benge
Catherine Page
Helen Walker
Sam Carroll

These people also contribute to the monthly committee meetings in an advisory capacity:

Margaretta Jolly
(University of Sussex)
Dr Dorothy Sheridan (Mass Observation Archive)

Freelance staff
John Riches
 (Development Director) who has 20 years experience in leading large-scale projects for award-winning community arts companies and national organisations. Since 2004 he has overseen the rejuvenation in QueenSpark’s programme, concentrating on the strategic development of the company’s profile and output, and leading new project ideas and publications.

Sarah Hutchings (Creative and Marketing Director) who has over ten years experience in literature and reading promotion including the project management of several high profile literature schemes both national and regional.

Nicola Benge (Administrator) who is the Creative Director of the arts and heritage organisation, Strike a Light. She has worked on many creative heritage projects for organisations like English Heritage, WRVS, Age Exchange, and Creative Partnerships.

Catherine Geeson who keeps the finances in order!

FacebookTwitterEmail news
Contact us | Accessibility | Site map | Privacy | Terms of use